A Team Effort

To Go One Step Further

At the EELab, we are interested in studying the cause-effect relationships between environmental stressors resulting from global and climate change and the subsequent epigenetic mechanisms regulating physiological responses in marine life.

What makes us different

Skills, Knowledge
and Creative Thinking

The training potential of the EELab is extraordinary. Besides state-of-the-art research, our work promotes critical skills for our future scientific careers, including leadership, independent thinking, collaborative work, and collegiality.

Dr. Jose M. Eirin-Lopez

Ph.D. Biology - Principal Investigator

Dr. Juliet Wong

Ph.D. Marine Biology - NSF Postdoctoral Fellow

Javier Rodriguez-Casariego

Ph.D. Biology - Postdoctoral Researcher

Andria Beal

M.S. Biology - Ph.D. Candidate

Serena Hackerott

M.S. Marine Biology - Ph.D. Candidate

Kelsey Yetsko

M.S. Biology - Ph.D. Student FIU Presidential Fellow

Zach Howard

Undergraduate Volunteer

Ernesto Campos

Undergraduate Volunteer

Wendy Paez

Undergraduate Volunteer

Jack Howard

NSF-REU Undergraduate Student

Jesse Margolies

NSF-REU Undergraduate Student

Dr. Alex Mercado-Molina

Ph.D. Biology - Collaborator

  • Grant Burdine (NSF CREST-CAChE undergraduate student 2018-2021)
  • Larissa Johnson (undergraduate volunteer, 2018-2020)
  • Carolina Soares Thomaz da Silva (undergraduate volunteer, 2019-2020)
  • Christian Suarez (undergraduate volunteer, 2019-2020)
  • Alexander Antonio Mariño (undergraduate volunteer, 2019-2020)
  • Ivanna Ortiz (NSF-REU undergraduate, 2018-2020)
  • Summon Haq (undergraduate volunteer, 2018-2020)
  • Ruth Etienne (undergraduate volunteer, 2019-2020)
  • Tia Johnson (undergraduate volunteer, 2017-2019)
  • Ingrid Piovanetti (undergraduate volunteer, 2017-2019)
  • Dalexa Casares (undergraduate volunteer, 2019)
  • Alejandra Dominguez (undergraduate volunteer, 2019)
  • Wendy Martinez (undergraduate volunteer, 2019)
  • Gabriel Diaz (Graduate McNair Fellow, 2017-2019)
  • Yanelle Silva Luna (NSF-REU student, Univ. Puerto Rico, 2018-2019)
  • Juan Sanchez-Gonzalez (NSF-REU student, Univ. Puerto Rico, 2018-2019)
  • Ciro Rivera-Casas (Postdoctoral Associate; courtesy appointment)
  • Michelot Michel (Honors Student, 2017-2018)
  • Eliani Pena (Graduate McNair Fellow, 2017-2019)
  • Victoria Suarez-Ulloa (Ph.D. student, 2012-2017)
  • Veronica Prego-Faraldo (Ph.D. student, 2013-2017)
  • Ciro Rivera-Casas (Ph.D. student 2009-2015)
  • Daniel Garcia Souto (visiting Ph.D. student University of Vigo, Spain, 2016)
  • Rodrigo Gonzalez-Romero (Ph.D. student 2007-2010)
  • Sean Campbell (undergraduate volunteer, 2015-2017)
  • Elizabeth Puente (undergraduate volunteer, 2015-2016)
  • Claudia Char (undergraduate volunteer, 2015-2016)
  • Jennifer Gomez (undergraduate volunteer, 2013-2015)
  • Heidy Martinez (undergraduate volunteer, 2015)
  • Juan Ortiz (undergraduate volunteer, 2015)
  • Jayson Esdaille (undergraduate volunteer, 2015)
  • Parvaneh (Pari) Nouri (undergraduate volunteer, 2015)
  • Monica Szynaka (undergraduate volunteer, 2014)
  • Ashley Reid (undergraduate volunteer, 2014)
  • Brianna Rodriguez (undergraduate volunteer, 2014)
  • Alejandra Rey Mariño (M.S. student, 2012-2013)
  • Marta Varela Eirin (undergraduate volunteer, 2012-2013)
  • Marta Grandal Fustes (undergraduate volunteer, 2012-2013)
Joining Forces

Key Collaborators

If you are interested in joining the Environmental Epigenetics Lab in the adventure of science, please contact us with a brief biosketch and your reasons for pursuing a scientific career in Biological Sciences.

Dr. Vanessa Aguiar-Pulido
University of Miami – USA
Dr. Holly Moeller
University of California Santa Barbara – USA
Dr. Ross Cunning
Shedd Aquarium – USA
Dr. Iliana Baums
Penn State University – USA
Dr. Randall Wells
Mote Marine Laboratory & Aquarium – USA
Dr. Roger Nisbet
University of California Santa Barbara – USA
Dr. Kevin Feldheim
The Field Museum, Chicago – USA
Dr. Hollie Putnam
University of Rhode Island – USA
Dr. Andrew Baker
University of Miami – USA
Dr. Marta Gomez-Chiarri
University of Rhode Island – USA
Dr. Steven Roberts
University of Washington – USA
Dr. Alberto Sabat
University of Puerto Rico – USA
Dr. Juan J. Pasantes
University of Vigo – Spain
Dr. Deron Burkepile
University of California Santa Barbara – USA
Dr. Juan Ausio
University of Victoria – Canada
Dr. Lucas Sanchez
CIB, Spanish Research Council – Spain
Dr. Josefina Mendez
University of A Coruña – Spain
Dr. Alejandro P. Rooney
USDA Agricultural Research Service – USA